TECHNICAL SUPPORT

At MY Polymers – The Low Refractive Index Company, we do our best to be responsive to our customers.

Any technical issue which arises either before or after you get our materials and start working with them can be discussed directly with our technical staff. 

Simply press the red button marked ASK A TECHNICAL QUESTION and you’ll be asked to describe the issue at hand.


Some technical questions and issues tend to appear more frequently than others.

MAJOR TECHNICAL ISSUES

RELEVANT PUBLISHED PAPERS

TECHNICAL SUPPORT VIDEO

A BRIEF REVIEW OF MAJOR APPLICATIONS

Recoating materials

Our recoating materials are used in the construction of fiber lasers. Splices that are created during the fiber laser assembly process, have to be recoated. Likewise, each component used in the assembly of a fiber laser has to be recoated and encapsulated by a recoating material.

Currently, the most common specialty optical fibers (both active and passive) use primary coatings with an index of 1.36 (e.g. OF-136). Recoating materials with the same low index of refraction, 1.36, are very common in recoating applications. Typically, 1.36 index materials are used for recoating splices, Pump Power Combiners, Couplers, and FBG (Fiber Bragg Gratings).

Our recoating materials were designed to be used on recoaters and in manual recoating. Viscosity in the range of roughly 2000 cps is ideally suited to recoaters, resulting in high-quality smooth molds.

Our low index recoating materials are dedicated for recoating. This focus enables optimization of adhesion (higher adhesion than primary coatings) and modulus (recoatings are more flexible, allowing better performance under thermal cycling).

For Cladding Light Strippers (Called also Cladding Power Strippers), a higher index is required, because of the idea to strip the cladding modes and get rid of them. During the last few years, we see an escalating trend to use Cascaded Cladding Light Strippers. Cascaded CLSs enables to distribute the power more evenly along the whole length of a CLS device. This prevents the formation of a high-temperature hot spot. Instead, multiple hot spots with significantly lower temperatures are formed, enabling the whole device to remain cooler.

Tower + OF136 OF140Nsm

Optical Fiber Primary Coatings (Cladding Resins)

MY Polymers Optical Fiber (OF) Coatings are used as a first (primary) coating in specialty optical fibers. Distinguished by their carefully balanced combination of high adhesion to the core, and high modulus, these UV cured coatings are setting new standards. Our OF-136 (Index=1.36) is used by the majority of specialty optical fibers manufacturers. This product, like some other members of the OF family, includes a proprietary adhesion promoter that dramatically improves adhesion under wet conditions. Our adhesion promoter was designed to be relatively stable, compared to commercially available adhesion promoters. One major application of OF-136 is for active Erbium-Doped fibers used in both Fiber Lasers and EDFA Optical Amplifiers.

The disruptive OF-133-V3 (index 1.33) enables a breakthrough Numerical Aperture of 0.6. The high NA can significantly increase the efficiency of fiber lasers and optical amplifiers. Pioneering companies are already at work, exploring the advantages of this exceptional primary coating. Its close relative, OF-134-V2, couples a low index of 1.34 with a relatively high modulus of 17 MPa. The higher modulus, compared to OF-133, is intended to enable a smoother transition to the ultra-low index OF coatings.

For mechanically demanding applications, customers choose the high modulus offered by OF-138 (index 1.38) and OF-140-N. These tough coatings are preferred for fibers that are subjected to high mechanical stresses. OF-HC-14 is our only secondary hard coat. The adhesion of OF-HC-14 to our primary low index coatings is about an order of magnitude higher, compared to similar commercially available hard coats.

Materials for Optical Communications Components

Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants, Potting, and Encapsulations Materials.
MY Polymers offers a wide range of materials for Optical Communications and networking. We continuously adapt our products to the fast-changing requirements of the Optical Communications industry. Our products can be found in EDFA optical amplifiers, in Optical Transceivers, PLC Splitters, V-Groove Arrays, and Integrated Photonic Circuits.

The Dual Cure (UV or Heat or Both) DC Product Line.
Our Dual Cure (DC) products find a growing number of applications as adhesives, coatings, and sealants. All our Dual Cure materials are one component materials. They are cured by either UV radiation, Heat, or a combination of both. This feature enables curing in partially or fully shaded regions of the device.
The DC line includes both flexible and rigid products with a refractive index from 1.33 to 1.50, with relatively big selection close to the index of silica. These include DC-1455 (flexible, index=1.448 at 950 nm) and DC-1455-HM and (Rigid, index=1.451) The DC line also includes high bond strength products like DC-150 (flexible) and DC-1473 (rigid).

Typical applications include:
V-Groove Array: Bonding & cladding the fibers inside the V-Grooves, fixing the fibers externally. For bonding inside the V-grooves array, if a low index is preferred, customers can use DC-136-EA, if not customers can use DC-1455 or DC-150. If a rigid adhesive is preferred, use DC-1455-HM or DC-1473-HM. For fixing the input/output fibers use the versatile DC-150, (or the UV cured MY-150). And for rigid fixing, use DC-1455, DC-1475, (or the UV cured MY-1473).

Sealant for an Optical Component Package.
The entry points of an optical fiber into the external package of a component can be sealed using one of our Dual Cured products, such as DC-1455 (when important to keep the index just below that of the silica fiber core) or DC-150. Both are very flexible, and this reduces the stress during thermal cycling or after a thermal shock. This enables the higher reliability of the device. The Dual Curing feature can be used for an initial fixing of the external side of the seal. 
Afterward, heat curing is used to cure the hidden part of the seal.

技术支持

MY Polymers 是一家专注低折射率产品的公司,我们会尽最大的努力来响应我们的客户。

您在获得我们的材料并开始使用之前或之后遇到的任何技术问题都可以直接与我们的技术人员进行讨论。

只需按红色按钮 “咨询技术问题” 并描述问题即可。

 有些技术问题看起来往往更常见。

单击以下链接可下载包含其中部分问题的文档:

主要技术关键

相关产品资料

技术支持视频

主要应用简介

二次涂覆胶水


我们的二次涂覆胶水用于制造光纤激光器。光纤激光器组装过程中产生的熔接点必须重涂覆胶水(二次涂覆)。同样,组装光纤激光器所需部件都必须用重涂胶水。

目前,最常见的特种光纤(有源和无源)都使用折射率为 1.36 的第一层涂覆胶水(例如 OF-136)。二次涂覆胶水常用同样具有 1.36 低折射率的非常通用的二次涂覆胶水。通常使用折射率为 1.36 的二次涂覆胶水来重涂熔接点、合束器、耦合器和 FBG(光纤布拉格光栅)。

我们的二次涂覆胶水专为涂覆机和手动涂涂的应用而设计,粘度约为 2000 cps,特别适用于涂覆机,能够制造出高质量的光滑产品。

我们的低折射率二次涂覆胶水专用于二次涂覆,这样可以优化粘性(粘性高于第一层涂覆胶水)和弹性模量(二次涂覆胶水韧性更好,在热循环下具有更好的性能)。

包层剥模器(也称为包层功率剥离器)需要更高的折射率,因为需要剥离并处理包层模。近年来,级联包层剥模器的使用呈上升趋势。级联 CLS 使整个 CLS 器件在长度上的功率分配更均匀,从而防止形成单个高温热点。实际上形成的是多个温度低得多的热点,从而使整个器件保持在冷的状态。

Tower + OF136 OF140Nsm

光纤初级涂层

MY Polymers OF 产品是用于特种光纤的初级涂层。这些紫外线固化涂层的特征是将与纤芯的高附着力与高模量进行了精心平衡的组合,也设定了一些新标准。

我们最畅销的 OF-136(折射率=1.36)供应大部分特种光纤制造商。此款产品与 OF 系列的多数其他成员一样,也包含专利助粘剂,可以在潮湿条件下大大提高粘合力。我们的助粘剂稳定性高、使用寿命长。

OF-136 主要应用之一是用于光纤激光器和 EDFA 光放大器。

颠覆性的 OF-133-V3(折射率 1.33)实现了数值孔径为 0.6 的突破。大数值孔径可以显著提高光纤激光器和光学放大器的效率。创业公司已经在着手探索这种罕见的初级涂层的优势。其近亲 OF-134-V2 既具有较低的折射率(1.34),又具有相对较高的模量(20 兆帕)。有些客户认为,与 OF-133 相比,模量越高,过渡越平滑。

弹性模量比 OF-133 更高,能够更平稳地过渡到超低折射率 OF 胶水。

在对机械性能要求较高的应用中,客户会选择 OF-138(折射率 1.38)和 OF-140-N,它们具有很高的模量。
这些坚韧的涂层是需要承受很高机械应力的光纤的首选涂层。

OF-HC-14 是我们排名第二的硬涂层。就粘合力来说,从 OF-HC-14 到我们的低折射率初级涂层均比类似的商用硬涂层大约高一个数量级。

适用光通讯器件胶水

粘合剂、涂覆、密封剂、灌封和封装胶水。

MY Polymers 为光通信和网络提供多种胶水。我们不断进取,使我们的产品一直能够满足光通信行业快速变化的需求。我们的产品广泛用于 EDFA 光放大器、光收发器、PLC 分离器、V-型槽阵列和集成光子电路。

双固化(UV 或加热,或两者兼有)DC 产品线。

我们的双固化 (DC) 产品在粘合剂、第一层涂覆和密封剂中的应用越来越广泛。我们所有的双固化胶水都是单组分胶水,UV 照射、加热或两者结合,都能固化。这一特点使得可以在器件的部分或完全遮挡区域进行固化。

DC 产品线包括折射率从 1.33 到 1.50 的柔性和刚性产品,选择范围非常大,接近二氧化硅折射率。其中包括 DC-1455(柔性,波长 950 nm 时折射率为 1.448)和 DC-1455-HM(刚性,折射率为 1.451)。DC 产品线还包括高粘结强度的产品,例如 DC-150(柔性)和 DC-1473(刚性)。

典型应用包括:

V-型槽阵列:在V-型槽内粘接光纤,在外部固定光纤。对于V形槽阵列内的粘接,如果客户首选低折射率,可以使用 DC-136-EA,反之,则可以使用 DC-1455 或 DC-150。如果首选考虑坚固的粘性,则使用 DC-1455-HM 或 DC-1473-HM。固定输入/输出光纤,可以使用万能的 DC-150(或 UV 固化 MY-150)。对于坚固的固定,可以使用 DC-1455、DC-1475(或 UV 固化 MY-1473)。

光器件封装适用密封胶。

如需密封部件外包装上的光纤入口点,可以使用我们的双固化产品,例如DC-1455(胶水的折射率略低于石英光纤的折射率,这是很关键的)或DC-150。这两种产品的韧性都很好,能够降低热循环期间或热冲击所产生的应力,从而提高光器件的可靠性。双固化特性是通过UV固化初步固定密封件外面, 后,采用热固化方法来固化密封件的隐蔽部分。